PIN Code Finder


    Share this page

    What is PIN Code

    A Postal Index Number or PIN or PIN code, is a six digit number introduced on 15 August 1972 by the Department of Post in order to identify a place, where the letter has to be delivered.PIN Code has been developed by Shriram Bhikaji Velankar, an additional secretary in the Union Ministry of Communications.

    For the delivery of letters, entire India has been divided into Nine Postal Regions, Regions are divided into Sub-Regions / Postal Circles, Postal Circles are divided into sorting offices. Sorting Offices are divided into Branch Postal Offices.

    How to Identify Place from PIN Code

    1. First digit of the PIN code from left, indicates the Postal Region. Below is the list of Postal Region:
      PIN Code Digits from leftPostal Region
      1 Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Chandigarh
      2 Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand
      3 Rajasthan, Gujarat, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli
      4 Maharashtra, Goa, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh
      5 Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka
      6 Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry, Lakshadweep
      7 West Bengal, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Assam, Sikkim
      8 Bihar, Jharkhand
      9 Army Post office (APO) and Field post office (FPO)

    2. First two digit of the PIN Code from the left, indicates the sub-region or Postal Circle, below is the list of Postal Circles:
      PIN Code Digits from leftSub-Region/Postal Circle
      11 Delhi
      12 to 13Haryana(Kamania)
      14 to 15 Punjab
      16 Chandigarh
      17 Himachal Pradesh
      18 to 19 Jammu and Kashmir
      20 to 28 Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand
      30 to 34 Rajasthan
      36 to 39 Gujarat
      403 Goa
      40 to 44 Maharashtra
      45 to 48 Madhya Pradesh
      49 Chhattisgarh
      50 Telangana
      51 to 53 Andhra Pradesh
      56 to 59 Karnataka
      60 to 66 Tamil Nadu
      67 to 69 Kerala
      682 Lakshadweep (Islands)
      70 to 74 West Bengal
      737 Sikkim
      744 Andaman and Nicobar Islands
      75 to 77 Odisha
      78 Assam
      79 Arunachal Pradesh
      793 Meghalaya
      795 Manipur
      796 Mizoram
      797 Nagaland
      798 Nagaland
      799 Tripura
      80 to 85 Bihar and Jharkhand
      90 to 99 Army Postal Service
      396210 Daman and Diu
      396 Dadra and Nagar Haveli
      605 Puducherry

    3. Third digit of the PIN Code from the left, indicates the sorting district / revenue district within the region. The first three digits of PIN Code i.e. indicates Postal Division in Postal Region :
    4. The final three digits are assigned to individual post offices within a district. The last three digits of PIN Code i.e. indicates , it means is under post office.