BSR Code Finder

, ALL- BSR Codes List

    Share this page

    What is BSR Code

    BSR Code stands for Basic Statistical Return Code, it is a seven-digit code allotted to authorised Indian banks by the RBI for receive government payments. While the first three digits from left identify the bank, the following four digits identifies the bank branch.

    BSR codes are required to make Income Tax Payments to Income Tax Department. Banks after receiving tax payments issue a CIN number(Challan Identification Number), which identify in which bank branch the income tax payment has been deposited. CIN comprises of 18 characters. First Seven characters from left includes BSR Code, next 8 to 13 characters from left indicates, the deposit date in DDMMYY format and characters 14-18 indicates the challan number.

    Difference between IFSC Code and BSR Code

    IFSC stands for Indian Financial System Code. IFSC code is made up of eleven characters and used to identify the branch of bank. BSR stands for basic statistical returns. BSR code is a seven digit number that is used by the Income Tax department in order to identify a bank branch for submission of returns to the RBI.

    IFSC code is used by Indian Banks for Bank to Bank or within Bank Branches payment transfer from one account to another account in the form of NEFT, RTGS, etc. While BSR codes are used to receive Income Tax payments.